Satellite Radio

September 29, 2009 at 12:11 pm 6 comments

I’m conducting a short survey on satellite radio.  Please post your comments, I want you opinion.  Satellite radio — Do you have it?  Do you use it?  If so, how much of your radio time is spent listening to satellite vs. “terrestrial” radio.

I love my satellite radio, but it does’t give me my local news, local weather, local traffic, etc.  How important is the localness of your am/fm radio?

How loyal are you to your favorite station and is it an am/fm station or a satellite channel?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Right back at ya! Moving….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  September 29, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Love Satellite — listen to it often in two cars. Great on long trips with kids, no commercial garbage. Still listen to my local station for news, traffic and weather — mostly AM for that info. FM radio is a dinosaur in my estimation because I always choose satellite for my music, sports, and some talk radio.

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl  |  September 29, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I have satellite in both cars, I listen to it about 25-30% of the time I’m in the car. Mostly on the ride home.

    I am very loyal to my favorite radio station, they are a local FM station. I like the local news, weather and traffic they offer, but I am completely hooked on their morning show!

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  September 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I haven’t given in to satellite yet, still love my ‘terrestrial’ radio in the car. Although on long trips, I’ll switch to the iPod.

    I am very loyal to a morning show, but don’t listen to the same station throughout the day. Switch between 3-4 stations, although recently lost one altogether when WBCN shut their doors.

    I think it’s important to have a local ‘personality’, especially in dominant areas where people treasure their local identity, and local traffic is important but not crucial since most people can access through their cell phones.

    Reply
  • 4. Wendy  |  September 29, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Don’t do satellite yet,but probably will in my next car if it’s available.

    Reply
  • 5. gary  |  September 30, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Love my sat radio! Local news is no longer “news” anyway…just “fuzz & wuz”. Satellite takes me away. Go Telstar!

    Reply
  • 6. Dorie  |  October 18, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I will always be a fan of local radio. Why? Where else can you get local updates on weather and traffic? And not just FM. If I need up to date info, WBZ AM (YES, AM radio is still alive) is my choice.

    Why “terrestrial” radio? First, it’s free. Second, if you have a favorite morning show, you can identify with what the dj’s talk about. Third, it’s free. Did I mention, it’s free to the listeners.

    As far as the advertisers, they not only get their time on the air, but they have a whole new way of talking to people with streaming. Did I mention, streaming is free to the listener (other than what you pay for your aircard, wireless remote, etc., etc.)

    Spot radio still has a place in our lives. Remember the floods in May a few years ago? AM radio, yes, I’m saying it again, AM radio, was the first place people went to for information. If you lived in southern NH, most likely it was AM610. They won an award for their coverage. Pretty sure the local tv station couldn’t get into some areas with their trucks that AM radio reporters could…specifically, one of them was on a firetruck in Concord getting close to the water. TV trucks couldn’t do that.

    Enough of a comment on radio? It isn’t going away, espeically since only 2-3% of the population have sat radio. Don’t get me wrong, sat radio has a place in our world, just not in mine.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930